IIFA 2017: Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt wins award for Best Actors, ‘Neerja’ Best Film


Bollywood Actors Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt bagged Best Actor award at IIFA Award 2017 for their outstanding work in film ‘Udta Punjab’ on Saturday night in New York despite of the film controversy with censor board for its theme and content.

Jacqueline’s midnight pole dancing is a MUST WATCH!

Actor Diljit Dosanjh who played the lead role in film Udta Punjab, secured Best Debutante – Male Actor award.

Renowned actress Sonam Kapoor clinched the Best Picture award for her film ‘Neerja’. The film revolves around the real life story of an air hostess Neerja Bhanot who died while making attempt to evacuate others on a hijacked flight at Karachi. On the other hand, Actor Jim Sarbh clinched the award for Best Performance in a Negative role.

Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury walked away with the Best Direction award for “Pink”, a hard-hitting drama which put forth the message that when a woman says no, it is a no.

Actress Taapsee Pannu was honored with the title of Woman Of The Year in film “Pink”. A well-known music director A.R. Rahman received a Special Award for his involvement in the music industry since 25 years.

During the award function, AR Rahman sang two lines from his song “Maa tujhe salaam” that made  audience emotional.

On the other hand, Shabana Azmi and Anupam Kher  were given award for the Best Supporting Actor category for film ‘Neerja” and “M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story”.

David Dhawan’s son Varun Dhawan received for film “Dishoom” for his outstanding comedy while Disha Patani was given an award for her debut film “M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story”.

Music Director Pritam clinched the award for Best Music Direction for film “Ae Dil Hai Mushkil while  Amitabh Bhattacharya secured Best Lyrics award for “Channa mereya”.

SRK savours ‘Rajasthani Thali’ in Jaipur, see pics

Famous singer Kanika Kapoor gets award for “Da da dase” and Tulsi Kumar was given award for “Soch na sake” in the female category, on the other hand, Amit Mishra received award in the men’s category.