ICC permits four-day Test games beginning with South Africa vs Zimbabwe


The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced their decision on Friday to provide the green signal to four-day Tests to take place on a trial basis. The introduction of the latest Test Championship will be done in the normal five-day format.

UP Yoddha beat Jaipur Pink Panthers 53-32 in Pro Kabaddi 2017

This decision was announced by Dave Richardson, CEO of ICC Cricket World Cup. In the Test series, nine teams will play six matches on domestic and foreign grounds in the two-year period. This Test Championship will begin after the 2019 World Cup finale, in which the final of the championship will be played between the two top teams by April 2021.

The full-time 12 cricket teams in the ODI league and the winner of the ICC World Cricket League Championship will play the game. The league will start from 2020 that will also set the path of qualification directly to the ICC World Cup.

All four teams will play 4 series on the domestic ground and four Series on the international ground.

“Our priority was to develop an international cricket structure that gave context and meaning across international cricket and particularly in the Test arena. This has been delivered and every Test in the new League will be a five-day Test format,” ICC chief executive Dave Richardson affirmed.


The initial four-day games will be held between South Africa and Zimbabwe by pink-ball.

Ashish Nehra announces retirement from all matches

Apart from this, several other important decisions were also taken in the ICC Board meeting. It was decided that the ICC Cricket World Cup matches will be played in Zimbabwe in the month of March next year.