Govt refused Padma awards for MS Dhoni, Arnab Goswami, Ram Rahim


The government discarded proposals to present Padma awards to the famous personalities, including cricketer MS Dhoni, spiritual leader Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh and tabla maestro Zakir Hussain on Monday.

In the list of Padma Vibhushan, Nationalist Congress Party leader Sharad Pawar and veteran BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi were not involved.

Under the “public affairs” category, the two received awards that lie under the government’s judgment. It didn’t reveal who they selected.

Several other famous personalities whose names were in the list include Biju Janata Dal MP Baijayant Panda, music composer Anu Malik and journalist Arnab Goswami. The reason regarding rejection has not been revealed by the home ministry.

The Padma awards might be given by the President at ceremonial functions that will take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan in 2017. President Pranab Mukherjee accepted Padma awards for 89 personalities, including seven Padma Vibhushan, seven Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri awards.

The highest nominations were given for Singh, the controversial chief of the powerful Dera Sacha Sauda who has also featured in three movies.

Air hostess Neerja Bhanot, who died during a hijack in 1986 was also chosen by BJP MP from Chandigarh Kirron Kher. The film features Sonam Kapoor in the lead roles.

The inquiry advisory group, set up to screen the assignments, included the bureau secretary, secretary to the President, extra primary secretary to the head administrator, home secretary, performing artist Waheeda Rehman, columnist and MP Dr Harivansh; political investigator S Gurumurthy; and, badminton player turned mentor Pullela Gopichand among others, one of the main daily paper announced.