Government starts E-auction facility for FM channels in 92 cities


NEW DELHI: The government has taken initiative on Monday to start E- Auction facility for FM channels in 92 cities, including important areas like border towns of Jammu & Kashmir and the northeast. 

The notice has been issued by information and broadcasting (I&B) ministry with a deadline for August 1. This decision will bring radio services to small towns and cities.

The Modi government has emphasized in popularising radio through his monthly talk show 'Mann Ki Baat'. 

Moreover, out of 69 new cities taken up for auction in the second batch. About 11 cities in border areas of Jammu & Kashmir and the northeast with population of up to 1 lakh with 33 channels have also been included. 

This notice comprises eligibility criteria, application procedures, reserve prices of channels, frequencies available for selection, auction rules, etc and is aimed at inviting applications from the interested companies for participation in the forthcoming auction, an official statement said. 

In category C, cities with population of 3-10 lakh cities like Akola, Bellary, Bhavnagar, Mysuru, Kurnool, Muzaffarnagar, Puducherry , Vellore, Salem, Saharanpur and Tirupati are included among others.

In category D, towns with population of 1-3 lakhs like Godhra, Itarsi, Itanagar, Mandsaur, Rewa, Neemuch, Shivpuri, Warda and Yavatmal are included. 
The FM Phase III policy exudes the government's thrust for concerted development of the northeastern states and J&K," Monday's official statement said.