Goa Assembly elections: AAP announces first list of four candidates


New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday announced the names of four of its candidates who will contest the Goa Assembly elections to be held in March 2017. The names include AAP’s state secretary Walmiki Naik who will contest from the Panaji constituency, which was earlier held by Union Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar.

State Government imposed security arrangements for BRICS Summit

Panaji constituency has been a stronghold of the Bharatiya Janata Party for several years now. Another contender, Ajitsingh Rane, who left the Shiv Sena for AAP, will contest in Mayem constituency, which is currently run by BJP leader and Assembly Speaker Anant Shet. Rane is a labour union leader who has led various protests in the state.

Former BJP member, Molu Velip will contest on an AAP ticket in the Shiroda constituency seat, while businessman Cruz Silva will compete to win Velim constituency. National AAP leaders, including Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and Satyendra Jain visited the state recently to strengthen the party campaign.

For Latest Hindi News,Click Here