Everything you need to know about the Nine Days(Navrati)


Navratri is the festival of the nine sacred days. This nine days festival marks the most auspicious and divine days according to Hindu calendar. These nine days are celebrated with fervor and festivity all over north India, and in the Hindu religion across the Globe. Navratri or the nine days are dedicated truly to Maa Durga (goddess Durga) and her nine avatars.

Keep these things in mind during Lord Ganesha worship

Image result for navratri

The story behind Navratri is the battle that took place between goddess Durga and the devil Mahishasura, who represents egotism. All the nine days of the festival are dedicated to different avatar of the goddess.

Image result for navratri

The Days associated to the Different avatars of Maa Durga are as follows:

Image result for 9 avatar of durga

SHAILPUTRI: Day 1 is associated to Shailputri. She is the personification of the collective power of Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh. The colour of the first day is red as it states action and vigour.

BRAHMCHARINI: Day 2 is associated to Brahmcharini. She is the one who practices devout seriousness. She is blissful and endows happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon all devotees who worship her. Filled with bliss and happiness, she is the way to setting free or moksha. The colour of the second day is royal blue as it stands for a calm-yet-powerful energy.

CHANDRAGHANTA: day 3 is associated with Chandraghanta. She represents beauty and grace and is worshipped for peace, stillness and prosperity in life. She is the promoter of bravery and has great strength; the colour for the same is yellow.

KUSHMUNDA: Day 4 is associated with Kushmunda. This goddess is considered as the creator of the universe. As per the Mythologies Kushmunda created the universe through a bout of laughter and made it green with the plants. Hence, the colour of the day is green.

SKAND MATA: Day 5 is associated with Skand Mata as she is the mother of Skanda, or Karthikeya, who was chosen by the gods as their commander-in-chief in the war against the devils. She was accompanied by Skanda in his infant form. The colour of the day is grey, as it depicts the vulnerability of a mother who can turn into a storm cloud when the need arises to protect her child.

KATYAYANI: day 6 is associated with Katyayani, who was born to the great sage, Kata, as an avatar of Durga. Dressed in orange, she shows signs of immense courage. Hence, the colour of the day is orange.

KALRATRI: day 7 is associated with Kalratri as she has a dark complexion, messy hair and a fearless posture. She has three bright shining eyes, with flames radiating from her breath. She is black like the goddess Kali. She is the fiercest form of goddess Durga, and she is dressed in white, hence the colour of the day is white.

MAHA GAURI: Day 8 is associated with Maha Gauri. Maha Gauri is intelligent, peaceful and calm. Maha Gauri means extreme white due to her color complexion. The colour of the day is pink which states hope and a fresh start.

SIDDHIDATRI: day 9 is associated with Siddhidatri. She has supernatural healing powers. She has four arms and is a promoter of happy state of mind. She blesses all gods, saints, yogis, and all devotees as a symptom of the mother goddess. The color of the day is sky blue, representing the beauty of of a clear sky.

Image result for navratri

Navratri is celebrated twice a year, first Navratri in the month of March or April is known as Chaitra Navratri and other in the month of Ashwin Shardiya Navratri. And on the Tenth day, Dusshera is being celebrated.

Keep these things in mind during Navratri 2017

Image result for navratri