Different shades of Karma!


Karma is one of the  central features of Hinduism. It is also common to all the faiths that originated in India. The idea of Karma is deeply rooted in the consciousness of the people of the Indian Subcontinent and influences their religious outlook, behavior, attitude and relationship.

Teachings from Bhagvad Geeta

On the positive side, it makes them responsible for their lives and actions and accept their fate as a consequence of their own actions. While on the negative side, it makes them vulnerable to superstition and self defeating behaviors.

Some beliefs about Karma:

  1. Karma means any mental, verbal or physical action one performs.
  2. The concept of Karma is peculiar to the religions of Indian origin
  3. Philosophically, Karma means desire-ridden, selfish actions
  4. Willful inaction or avoidance of actions also qualifies as karma
  5. The consequences of Karma are called the fruit of Karma
  6. As the cumulative consequence of all actions, Karma also means fate
  7. Karma binds the souls to Samsara or the cycle of births and deaths.
  8. Desire is the root of Karma. Sinful Karma arises from selfish, desire-ridden actions
  9. The law of karma is universal and inescapable even for gods.
  10. Karma is viewed in Hinduism both as an effect and as an impurity.
  11. All beings from the highest to the lowest have karmas.
  12. Action performed as part of daily routine are known as nitya karmas

For latest Hindi News, Click Here