Devendra Jhajharia, Sardar Singh suggested for Khel Ratna Award


Indian Paralympic javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia and Ex-Hockey Captain has been recommended for India’s highest sporting honour award Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna on Thursday.

Made the most of every opportunity: Yuki Bhambri

The decision was taken by awards selection committee led by Justice (Retd) C K Thakkar. Jhajharia is the first Indian to clinch two Paralympic gold medals while Sardar is the second contender suggested by the committee for Khel Ratna award.

The 36-year-old Jhajharia’s two gold awards came in the 2004 Athens Games and a year ago’s Rio Paralympics and he set new world records on both the events. He likewise won a gold award at the 2013 World Championships.

Sardar, then again, has been a consistent in India’s quick enhancing remaining in global hockey.

The 31-year-old, viewed as one of the expert midfielders on the planet, turned into the most youthful player to chief the Indian hockey group when he drove the side at the 2008 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup.

A beneficiary of the Padma Shri, the fourth most noteworthy non military personnel honor of India in 2015, Sardar has two Asian Games decorations – gold in 2014 Incheon and bronze in 2010 Guangzhou. He additionally has two Commonwealth Games silver decorations and was named in the International Hockey Federation’s All-Star group twice in 2010, 2011.

“My diligent work for the last 15-20 years has paid off. It is the greatest of every single brandishing honor and the credit for that goes to my partners on the grounds that without them I couldn’t have accomplished what I have,” Sardar said.

Sardar’s name turned into a subject of open deliberation amid the meeting today because of the lewd behavior charge leveled against him by an Indian-root British hockey player. Be that as it may, his wearing accomplishments were difficult to disregard for the council.

Regardless of whether both Sardar and Jhajharia get the honor or both of the two is picked, would be chosen by the Sports Ministry in the following couple of days.

Plus, the honors choice panel has prescribed 17 names for the Arjuna grant.

The rundown incorporates men’s Test cricket group standard Cheteshwar Pujara and ladies’ group World Cup star Harmanpreet Kaur, Paralympic medallists Mariyappan Thangavelu and Varun Bhati, golfer SSP Chawrasia and hockey player S V Sunil.

The 29-year-old Pujara scored the most extreme keeps running for India in a solitary season a year ago. He counted more than 1350 runs, outperforming considerably captain Virat Kohli.

Mariyappan had won the men’s high hop (F46) gold decoration at the Rio Olympics. Bhati, then again, had asserted a silver in a similar occasion.

Patna Pirates crushes Telugu Titans in Pro Kabaddi League 2017

Golfer Chawrasia had won consecutive Indian Open titles in 2016 and this year.

Khel Ratna suggestions: Devendra Jhajharia (Para-Athlete) and Sardar Singh (Hockey).

Arjuna Awards suggestions: V J Surekha (Archery), Khushbir Kaur (Athletics), Arokin Rajiv (Athletics), Prasanthi Singh (Basketball), L Devendro Singh (Boxing), Cheteshwar Pujara (Cricket), Harmanpreet Kaur (Cricket), Oinam Bembem Devi (Football), SSP Chawrasia (Golf), S V Sunil (Hockey), Jasvir Singh (Kabaddi), P N Prakash (Shooting), An Amalraj (Table Tennis), Saketh Myneni (Tennis), Satyawart Kadian (Wrestling), Mariyappan Thangavelu (Para-Athlete) and Varun Bhati (Para-Athlete).