Delhi University (DUSU) 2016 results: ABVP wins 3 out of 4 posts, NSUI picks up 1


New Delhi: The ABVP continued their dominance in the Delhi University Student Elections. While the BJP’s student wing won 3 seats, the Congress-backed NSUI won one seat. The election was held on Friday.

In the next 48 hours, thousands more officers will be conveyed in south Kashmir

ABVP has won the posts of president, vice-president and secretary of the students union, popularly known as DUSU. The NSUI won the post of Joint Secretary. The winners are Amit Tanwar (President), Priyanka Chabri (Vice President), Ankit Sangwan (Secretary), all of whom are from the ABVP. Mohit Sangwan from NSUI was elected as joint secretary. Tanwar, a first year MA Hindi student of PGDAV college, has been active in the ABVP for the last four years.

The results are a minor setback for the ABVP which had swept all four posts in 2014 and 2015, defeating the predominant NSUI and CYSS (students wing of the Aam Aadmi Party) and AISA. This year, the CYSS pulled out of the elections as they failed to win a single post last year.

Voter turnout was reported to have dipped this year, especially among the North Campus colleges. There was a waning interest for the elections among students in colleges like Ramjas and Hindu.

The elections this year had a substantial number of women, with four of the seven candidates for the president’s post being women. Three of the five candidates vying for the vice-president’s post were also women. The voting for the elections took place in two phases on Friday across 117 booths. Approximately 1,23, 241 voters were eligible to cast their choice across 51 colleges to elect their representatives.

Click here for more latest hindi news