Congress nominates P Chidambaram, Jairam Ramesh, Kapil Sibal for Rajya Sabha


New Delhi : Senior Congress leaders Ambika Soni, P Chidambaram, Kapil Sibal and Jairam Ramesh are among the eight party leaders nominated for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. Recently 57 seats lied vacant in the Rajya Sabha,  Now, as per requirement to fill the vacant seats, elections will held.

According to the media reports, seven members include P Chidambaram, Oscar Fernandes, Jairam Ramesh, Ambika Soni, Vivek Tankha, Kapil Sibal and Chhaya Verma. Though the full list of candidates is still to come out, it has been revealed that P Chidambaram has been nominated from Maharashtra, Jairam Ramesh from Karnataka and Kapil Sibal from Uttar Pradesh. Veteran leader Anand Sharma has been recently inducted in the house from Himcahal Pradesh.

As per reports, it is known that Janata Dal United has nominated former party chief Sharad Yadav and Rashtriya Janata Dal has nominated Ram Jethmalani from Bihar. With the list being further opened and parties looking out for appropriate people to represent them in the Upper House, it would be interesting to note who gets a second chance and who are shown exit doors.