Chancellor of Nalanda University George Yeo resigns, says varsity’s autonomy affected


The second Chancellor of Nalanda University George Yeo after Nobel laureate Amartya Sen,  resigned from the post on Friday saying the varsity’s autonomy was being affected as he was “not even given notice” of the leadership change in the institution.

“The conditions under which the authority change in Nalanda college has been all of a sudden and summarily affected is irritating and conceivably unsafe to the college’s improvement,” he said in an announcement to the individuals from the prior leading group of the college.

The board was reconstituted by President Pranab Mukherjee as its guest on November 21 which separated Sen’s almost 10 years long relationship with the organization after the legislature reconstituted the overseeing body of the prestigious establishment.

“It is confusing why I, as Chancellor, was not by any means pulled out of it. When I was welcome to assume control over the duty from Amartya Sen a year ago, I was more than once guaranteed that the college would have self-sufficiency. This shows up not to be the situation now.

“Appropriately, and with profound trouble, I have presented my letter of acquiescence as Chancellor to the Visitor,” Yeo said.

Sources said the President, in his ability as the guest of the college, affirmed the reconstitution of the representing board as per arrangements of the Nalanda University Act, 2010.

He additionally endorsed giving transitory charge of Vice Chancellor to senior-most Dean of the college as the current VC Gopa Sabharwal’s one year augmentation terminated yesterday. It will be a stop-crevice measure until the new Vice Chancellor is named.

The new overseeing board will be a 14-part body which will be led by the chancellor. It will likewise involve bad habit chancellor, alongside five individuals assigned by India, China, Australia, Laos PDR and Thailand.

Former revenue secretary N K Singh, who was likewise individual from the Nalanda Mentors Group, will speak to India.