Bihar court issues death sentence to five Maoists


Bihar Court has issued death sentence to five Maoists for killing two jawans of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) in April 2014.

During the Lok Sabha elections, the CRPF Battalion 131 headed by Gunjan Kumar was killed at the polling station when the Maoists entered near Gangta-Lakshmipur Road in April.

A senior CRPF officer stated, “It was around 4 am when there was an IED blast in which some of our soldiers sustained injuries. As our jawans were alert, they recovered quickly and were also able to retaliate. But some Maoists soon started firing, and two of our jawans — Ravindra Rai and Som Gowda — attained martyrdom.”

An FIR was filed with the Kharagpur police station in this link and five alleged Maoists including Rattu Koda, Vipin Mandal, Adhiklal Pandit, Bano Koda and Manu Koda were detained.

The case has been lodged under sections Sections 302 (murder), 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 147 (rioting), 148 (rioting, armed with deadly weapon), 341 (wrongful restraint) and 307 (attempt to murder) of Indian Penal Code (IPC). The accused has to submit Rs 50,000 as a penalty.