BCCI to announce Indian cricket team for Zimbabwe and West Indies tour


Mumbai: India team will play three ODIs and three twenty20 matches against Zimbabwe, beginning on June 11. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan are likely to be rested for the tour. The BCCI selectors will hold a meeting to announce the squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe series and the West Indies tour.

However, it is not yet confirmed if Indian captain MS Dhoni will join the squad for the Zimbabwe series.  If Dhoni does not feature in the squad, Ajinkya Rahane, who also captained India in their last tour of Zimbabwe, will most likely be handed the skipper's role once again.

Changes are expected for the series against Zimbabwe, with several first-choice players set to be rested following a hectic workload which included a home series against South Africa, a series against Australia, a short T20I series against Sri Lanka, the Asia Cup, World Twenty20 and finally the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Manish Pandey and Jasprit Bumrah, who made fleeting appearances during the Australian tour, are expected to be picked.

The selectors have left it to MS Dhoni to take a call on his availability for the Zimbabwe series. If he decides to take a break, Wriddhiman Saha might find himself in the ODI squad as the wicket-keeper batsman. 

R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are expected to be the frontline spinners for India, while Amit Mishra is expected to be chosen as the third spinner.