BCCI announced the Indian squad for Zimbabwe tour, five new faces


Mumbai: The BCCI announced the 16 member squad for the tour of Zimbabwe on Monday.  Zimbabwe tour will start from June 11 that includes three Twentey20 and three ODIs. The significantly team, which is full of youngsters, will be led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh despite their decent performances in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) have been ignored by the selectors.

 The Indian squad announced for the Zimbabwe tour does not feature prominent names such as Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Hardik Pandya and Ajinkya Rahane. The decision to rest them has been taken in view of the hectic schedule of the Indian cricket team for the past two months that included Asia Cup and World T20 followed by the ongoing Indian Premier League.

Vidarbha batsman Faiz Fazal is one of five uncapped players in Indian’s ODI and T20Is squads for the tour. The other are spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Jayant Yadav, and batsmen Karun Nair and Mandeep Singh. KL Rahul is uncapped for limited-overs formats.

ODI and T20 squad

M S Dhoni (c), K L Rahul, Maneesh Pandey, Karun Nair, Faiz Fazal,  Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaspreet Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Jaidev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.