Assembly Elections 2017: Polling at Himachal Pradesh begins at 68 constituencies


Voting for all 68 constituencies in Himachal Pradesh started at 8.00 am on Thursday and will end at 5.00 pm in the evening.  More than 37,000 election officials, security-guards, 17,770 policemen and 65 organizations of the paramilitary are enforced in HP for election duty, the Election Commission stated.

Pradhuman murder case: Class 11 Ryan student detained by CBI

Live webcasts have been implemented at 2,300 polling stations to make sure fair ballot in HP’s 12 districts.

In HP, the Election Commission will make use of VVPAT machines to make sure that there’s “no concession” on confidentiality of the polls.

About 337 candidates in the elections today, involving sitting Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and ex CM Prem Kumar Dhumal, amongst 62 sitting MLAs, competiting the elections.

Congress party headed by CM Virbhadra Singh and the BJP headed by ex chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal are on a race of all 68 seats whereas the BSP is challenging on 42 seats, CPI(M) is contesting on 14 seats, Swabhiman Party and Lok Gathbandhan Party is challenging on six each and the CPI contesting on 3 seats.

Delhi: IndiGo staff mistreated passenger, air service apologises

The Himachal poll results will be announced with Gujarat poll results on December 18.