Congress wins big after Uddhav Thackeray in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, stirred up

Rajasthan Tourism App - Welcomes to the land of Sun, Sand and adventures

Congress MLA Nala Patole has been elected unopposed to the post of Maharashtra Assembly Speaker. This is being seen as a major victory of the Congress. Already Congress, Shiv Sena and Uddhav Thackeray of Nationalist Congress Party alliance Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi won the floor test with the support of 169 MLAs in the assembly.


Nana Patole won unopposed as the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. (Photo: Google)

Congress has won a big victory in Maharashtra. Nana Patole of Congress has been elected unopposed speaker of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly on Sunday. Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray took him to the Speaker's Chair. CM said that Nana Patole comes from a family of farmers. Hopefully, he will do justice to all. The BJP on Saturday nominated Kishan Kathore for the post of speaker. However, after the all-party meeting today, the BJP decided to withdraw the candidature.

Nana Patole comes from a farmer family. (Photo: Google)

Former Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said that we have withdrawn the name of Kathore after requesting other parties in the meeting. Because Maharashtra has a tradition of choosing unopposed speakers. Nana Patole is a four-time MLA from Sakoli seat in Vidarbha. In 2014, he joined the BJP, leaving the Congress and won the Lok Sabha elections. However, he left the BJP and joined the Congress in December 2017 due to a rift with Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

The unopposed election took place with the withdrawal of the name of the BJP candidate. (Photo: Google)

The Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi government on Saturday secured a confidence vote of 169 votes in a special session of the assembly. Congress leader Ashok Chavan moved the motion in the House. The BJP objected to the session in the House and 105 of its MLAs walked out before the trust vote. While 4 MLAs of AIMIM, CPI (M) and MNS remained neutral during voting. There was no vote against the government. The three parties in the alliance have 154 MLAs, with the government getting 15 votes more than this.

Rajasthan Tourism App - Welcomes to the land of Sun, Sand and adventures