Anil Kumbe re-appointed as ICC Cricket Committee Head, Rahul Dravid rolled as member


Dubai. India Cricket team’s former Captain Anil Kumble being re-elected as the Chairman of ICC Cricket Committee for the second term of 3 years, while his one-time team-mate and a great batsman Rahul Dravid is named in the member of the top level.

Kumble, the highest wicket taker for India was elected as Chairman in 2012 for the first time and will now continue to head the panel till 2018. Meanwhile, former India captain Rahul Dravid and former Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardena have been appointed as members of the ICC Cricket Committee, adding more cricketing experience.

Dravid and Jayawardena have played 1,161 international matches between 1996 and 2015. Now they will be in the Committee for tenure of three years.

The ICC said in a statement that they will attend their first meeting at Lords’ on May31 and June 1. ICC Annual Conference will take place in Edinburgh in Scotland three weeks later after the meeting.

Dravid has been elected as a current player representative by the current Test captains replacing the former Sri Lanka captain Sangakkara. The three year term of Sangakkara has come to an end.

Jayawardene has been elected as a representative on former players who will replace former Australia captain Mark Taylor.

ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice said, “I welcome Rahul Dravid and Mahela Jayawardena, and I am confident that these extremely credentialed persons will carry on the fine work of their predecessors to make the sport even more competitive and attractive.”