18th IIFA awards 2017: List of nominations


The eighteenth edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards is booked to occur over the weekend. Karan Johar’s Ae Dil Hai Mushkil tops the nomination list with eight nods including into top four categories – Best Film, Director, Actor and Actress. Sushant Singh Rajput’s MS Dhoni: The Untold Story, Amitabh Bachchan’s Pink and Shahid Kapoor’s Udta Punjab tied for the second spot with seven nominations each. Sonam Kapoor’s Neerja (which won three National Film Awards) has nominations in six categories while Rishi’s Kapoor and Sons scored five nods. Bollywood famous people like Salman Khan, Alia Bhatt, Shahid Kapoor, Saif Ali Khan and Karan Johar have begun arriving in New York City, where the IIFA festival will be hosted this year.

Here’s the list of nomination:

Best Film

Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

MS Dhoni: The Untold Story




Udta Punjab

Best Director

Karan Johar, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Neeraj Pandey, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Ram Madhvani, Neerja

Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Pink

Ali Abbas Zafar, Sultan

Abhishek Chaubey, Udta Punjab

Best Actor (Female)

Anushka Sharma, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Alia Bhatt, Dear Zindagi

Sonam Kapoor, Neerja

Taapsee Pannu, Pink

Alia Bhatt, Udta Punjab

Best Actor (Male)

Shahid Kapoor, Udta Punjab

Ranbir Kapoor, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Shah Rukh Khan, Fan

Sushant Singh Rajput, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Amitabh Bachchan, Pink

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female)

Shabana Azmi, Neerja

Andrea Tariang, Pink

Ratna Pathak Shah, Kapoor & Sons

Disha Patani, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Richa Chadda, Sarbjit

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male)

Rajat Kapoor, Kapoor & Sons

Rajkummar Rao, Aligarh

Rishi Kapoor, Kapoor & Sons

Anupam Kher, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Amitabh Bachchan, Wazir

Best Actor In Comic Role

Varun Dhawan, Dishoom

Jimmy Shergill, Happy Bhag Jayegi

Rishi Kapoor, Kapoor & Sons

Best Actor In Negative Role

Niel Nitin Mukesh, Wazir

Shah Rukh Khan, Fan

Jim Sarbh, Neerja

Best Story

Kapoor & Sons, Ayesha Devitre Dhillon, Shakun Batra

Neerja, Saiwyn Quadras

Pink, Ritesh Shah, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Shoojit Sircar

Best Lyrics

Channa Mereya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil – Amitabh Bhattacharya

Aave re Hitchki, Mirzya – Gulzar

Tu Chal, Pink – Tanvir Ghazi

Best Music Direction

Pritam, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Amaal Malik, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Amit Trivedi, Udta Punjab

Best Playback Singer (Male)

Arijit Singh – Channa Mereya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Amit Mishra – Bulleya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Diljit Dosanjh – Ikk Kudi, Udta Punjab

Armaan Malik – Besabriyaan, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Playback Singer (Female)

Kanika Kapoor – Da Da Dasse, Udta Punjab

Neha Bhasin – Jag Ghoomeya, Sultan

Tulsi Kumar – Soch Na Sake, Airlift

The IIFA Awards 2017, which will occur in NYC’s MetLife stadium on July 15, will be hosted by Karan Johar and Saif Ali Khan.