10 new Ministers inducted by Fadnavis


The most awaited expansion of the State council of ministers took place on Friday when Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis inducted 10 new Ministers in Cabinet.

In the cabinet, some surprises with unexpected faces was always seen from the BJP, the expansion was also notable for the failure of Shiv Sena’s tactics which was hoping to get at least one cabinet berth, but had to settle for two MoS posts.

Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray did not attended the swearing in ceremony which held at the central hall of the legislature building.

“We had decided on a formula when we joined the government. The same formula was followed today and we have been given two MoS posts. We did not ask for cabinet berth. The CM had assured last week that MoS powers will be increased and an announcement regarding the same could be made soon,” Mr. Thackeray said.

Shivsangram leader and and MLC Vinayak Mete also showed his anger after the ceremony and said, “The BJP did not live up to its word. If other allies can get ministries, why can’t I?” he asked.

After the Cabinet expansion, MLC Vinayak Mete did not attended the oath-taking ceremony of newly-elected Members of Legislative Council.

Mr. Fadnavis also encouraged MoS Home, Ram Shinde, to the cabinet rank.

Members of BJP including Jaykumar Rawal from Sindkheda (Dhule) and Sambhaji Nilangekar from Nilanga (Latur, Marathwada) were also given cabinet berths, along with Mahadev Jankar from Rashtriya Samaj Party.

BJP’s senior most MLC from Vidarbha, Pandurang Fundkar also got a place in the Cabinet along with Union Minister Nitin Gadkari’s, Subhash Deshmukh, an MLA from Solapur (western Maharashtra).

Of the five newly-inducted Ministers of State, Gulabrao Patil (Jalgaon) and Arjun Khotkar (Jalna) are Shiv Sena MLAs, Ravindra Chavan (Dombivli) and Madan Yerawar (Yavatmal, Vidarbha) are BJP MLAs while Sadabhau Khot, MLA, is from the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana.